The External Advisory Board of the School of Materials Science and Engineering serves as a sounding board to advise the Chair in policy matters in accordance with the expertise represented by the board members and their knowledge of the management of businesses and institutions of higher education. It assists in facilitating the highest quality of engineering education, and promoting and advancing the best interests of the School among alumni, and individuals and organizations in business and industry. The board also actively assists the Chair of the School in securing financial support, particularly from alumni, business, and industry.

MSE at Georgia Tech is grateful to have the following esteemed industry and academic leaders serve on our External Advisory Board.

Jose Acosta
VP, Products and Engineering
The Home Depot
Rigoberto Advincula
Rigoberto C. Advincula
Governor’s Chair Professor
University of Tennessee
Sarah (Spring) F. Beasley
MatE '92, MS Int. Log. ‘15
Director of Service Engineering
Dana Breed
Global R&D Director of Packaging and Sustainability
The Coca-Cola Company
Timothy J. Bunning
Chief Scientist
Air Force Research Laboratory
Doug Cameron
Independent Business and Technology Advisor
William Clyburn
CerE '89
Clyburn Consulting
George Corbin
Senior Executive Vice President Head of Research, Development, Technology
Solvay Advanced Polymers
Fleurette Fitch
Chem '93, CHE '98
Director of Corporate Quality - Commercial Division
Shaw Industries Inc.
Bryan Haynes
Director, Global Enterprise Global Nonwovens Research & Engineering
Kimberly-Clark Corporation
Keith Hearon
MSE '09
EAB Chair
Founding CEO
Poly6 Technologies
Gustavo S. Luengo
Fellow expert
L’OREAL Research and Innovation
Tami Mace
MS Poly '03
CEO and Chief Scientist
TLC Polymer Consulting
Devesh Mathur
Vice President Innovation
Klockner Pentaplast
Ted Meihofer
Vice President, Investments
Raymond James & Associates
Caitlin Meree
PFE ’11, PhD MSE ’15
Senior Technical Supervisor Safety and Graphics Business Lab
Angela Mitchell
PTCh '04
Senior Engineer, R&D
Avanos Medical
Keith G. Reed
Ph.D. ChBE ‘09
Consumable Polymers Product Technology Supervisor
ExxonMobil Chemical Company
Tom Rosenmayer
Vice President, Development
Silpara Technologies
Susan B Sinnott
Head and Professor Department of Materials Science & Engineering Professor, Department of Chemistry
The Pennsylvania State University
Larry Thomson
MSE ‘00
Director Research & Technology Materials and Processes BCA – Twin Aisle Program Support
Phil Williams
Text '70
EAB Vice Chair
Managing Principal
3 & L Advisors, LLC
Nicole Wilson
Pure Filter Solutions

Emeritus Members

Jennifer P. Bailey

CerE '70, MS CerE '71
BASF (Retired)

Gene Berdichevsky

Co-founder and CEO
Sila Nanotechnologies Inc.

David Bowden

MS '78, Ph.D. Chem '82
Technical Fellow
Boeing Company (Retired)

Fran Brantley

Text ‘64
Vice President (Retired)
J&J Industries

Lee Bryan

Global Director of Product Supply
Tencate Geosynthetics, North America

Gary Foote

3DXTech, LLC

Michael Fulbright

Text 72
President and CEO (Retired)
JPS Industries, Inc.

Michael Ginn

M.S. CerE 80
Ginn Mineral Technology, Inc.

Parmeet Grover

M.S. MetE 93, Ph.D. MetE 96
Senior Partner and Managing Director

Kurt Jacobus

ME 93
Chairman and CEO
MedShape, Inc

Sandra H. Magnus

Ph.D. CerE 96
Former Astronaut and part-time Professor at Georgia Tech.
Principal at AstroPlanetview, LLC.

Jeffrey Martin

TE 82
President and CEO
Yulex Corporation

Geoffrey Morris

PE, CerE 82
Scientific Affairs Manager (Retired)

Yancy W. Riddle

M.S. MSE 98, Ph.D. MSE 01
CEO, President, Founder
Javelin 10x

Herb Upton

Mgt. 93
Director, Specialty Products Division
Shaw Industries Group