Dr. Russell D. Dupuis is the Steve W. Chaddick Endowed Chair in Electro-Optics and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Georgia Tech with a joint appointment in the School of Materials Science and Engineering.

Dr. Dupuis received his BSEE with highest honors-bronze tablet (1970), his MSEE (1971) and his Ph.D . EE (1973) from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. In September 1989 he joined the University of Texas at Austin where he established the Advanced Materials and Devices Group to study novel MOCVD processes and to grow device-quality heterostructure devices and quantum wells using MOCVD.

His most recent work involves the MOCVD growth of heteroepitaxial InAlGaN on sapphire substrates for lasers, LED's, photodetectors, and high-power transistors; the growth of InAlGaAsP-InP lasers; the growth of InGaAs-InP vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers; and InGaAs -InP heterojunction bipolar transistors. In addition, he is exploring the III-V "native oxide" materials. His technical specialties include semiconductor materials and devices, epitaxial growth by metalorganic chemical vapor deposition, and heterojunction structures in III-V compound semiconductors.

Dr. Dupuis is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the nation's highest honor for engineering professionals.

Research Areas:
  • IEEE Edison Medal, 2007
  • National Medal of Technology Laureate, 2002
  • The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) John Bardeen Award, 2004
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, College of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 2004
  • Licensed Professional Engineer, The State of Texas (2001)
  • Fellow of the Optical Society of America, 2000
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Alumni Loyalty Award, 1997
  • IEEE/LEOS Award for Engineering Achievement, 1995
  • Elected to National Academy of Engineering, 1989
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1987
  • Young Scientist Award of the Gallium Arsenide and Related Compounds Conference, 1986
  • Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 1986
  • Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff, AT&T Bell Laboratories, 1986
  • IEEE Morris N. Liebmann Memorial Award, 1985
Grad Students
  • Semiconductor materials and devices
  • Epitaxial growth by metalorganic chemical vapor deposition
  • Heterojunction structures in III-V compound semiconductors