Surf Project Archive 2009

 Project HOME
A. MATERIALS FOR BIOLOGICAL AND SENSOR APPLICATIONS

Project No.

Student Name and Affiliation

Project Title

Faculty Mentor

A.1

Thomas Osburn, Georgia Tech, Physics; tosburn3@gatech.edu

Nanostructures and Porous Silicon: Activity at Interfaces in Sensors and Photocatalytic Reactors

Jim Gole
  PHYS

A.3

Chyi-Huey Yeh, Penn State University, Materials Science and Engineering; cjy5015@psu.edu

Designing the microstructure of polymer nanocomposites

Meisha Shofner    PTFE/MSE

A.5

Derek Cheng, Johns Hopkins Univ, Materials Science and Engineering; dcheng16@jhu.edu

Multistimuli responsive and adaptive nanocomposite hybrid materials

Vladimir Tsukruk       MSE

A.6

Courtney Cox, Mercer University, Biomedical Eng.,10536452@student.mercer.edu

Nano Phospors and Nano Light Emitters for Biosensors

Summers, MSE & Wagner, GTRI

A.7

A. Candace Derenge, Arizona State University; Bioengineering;schewele11@mail.wlu.edu

Creation of Pathogen Mimetics for the study of Receptor Mediated Endocytosis

Todd Sulchek
ME

B. MATERIALS FOR STRUCTURAL AND EXTREME ENVIRONMENTS

Project No.

SURF Student and affiliation

Project Title (Click on Title for Abstract)

Faculty Mentor

B.8

Alexandra Woldman, Cornell University; ayw6@cornell.edu

Characterization of SOFC Sealant Materials

Hamid Garmestani   MSE

B.9

William Goodwin, Univ of Tennessee, Matls Sci & Eng;wgoodwi2@utk.edu

Advanced Digital Image Processing for Characterization of Microstructure of Materials Processed in Microgravity

Arun Gokhale             MSE

B.10

Maneel Bharadwaj, Univ of Idaho, Matls Sci & Eng; maneelb@vandals.uidaho.edu 

Advanced Digital Image Processing for Characterization of Microstructure of Materials Processed in Microgravity

Arun Gokhale             MSE

B.12

Hailey Kerr, Georgia Tech, MSE; hkerr3@gatech.edu

Carbon Supersaturation of Thin-Walled Austenitic Stainless Steel Formed Via the Reduction of Metal Oxide Extrusions

Tom Sanders
MSE

B.13

Harold Nikoue, Georgia Tech, Aero Engineering;hnikoue3@gatech.edu

Selection of Materials for Superheater Tubes in Industrial Boiler

Preet Singh                      MSE

B.14

Esther Schewel, Washington and Lee, Physics/Math;bsteven4@illinois.edu

High-strain-rate Impact Characterization of Reactive Metal Systems

N. Thadhani
MSE

C. MATERIALS FOR ENERGY APPLICATIONS

Project  No.

SURF Student and affiliation

Project (Click on Title for Abstract)

Faculty Mentor

C.15

Tyler Munhollon, COE College, Physics;bsteven4@illinois.edu

Conformal Metal Thin Films for H2 Purification and Fuel-Cell Catalyst Applications

Faisal Alamgir          MSE

C.17

Amy Adams, University of Florida, Materials Science and Engineering;amy.adams@ufl.edu

Materials for Organic Electronic and Photonics

Seth Marder
CHEM/MSE

C.19

William Mateker, Georgia Tech, Materials Science and Engineering;wmateker3@gatech.edu

Carbon Nanotube Electronics

Seung Soon Jang
MSE

C.22

Taylor Grieve, Iowa State Univ, Materials Engineering;tngrieve@gmail.com

Nanomaterials for High Capacity Li-ion Batteries

Gleb Yushin
MSE

C.23

Ping Wong, Univ of Buffalo, Mechanical Engineering;pingwong@buffalo.edu

Computational Modeling of the Electronic Structure of Organic Semiconductors for Solid-State Ligthing and Solar Cells

Jean-Luc Bredas, CHEM

C.24

Will Hardin, Georgia Tech, MSE; willhardin@gmail.com

Reactive Nanoparticle Materials for Divers in Contaminated Waters

Dave Stolberg &
Jud Ready

D. INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH EXPERIENCE PROJECTS

Project  No.

SURF Student and affiliation

Project (Click on Title for Abstract)

Faculty Mentor

I-25

Kirsten Mimberg, Brooklyn College, Chemistry;kmimberg@gmail.com

Energetic and Structural Characterization of Polymer-Surfactant Complexes

Loh Watson                  Univ of Campinas, Brazil (Milam)

I-26

Adam Jakus, Georgia Tech, Materials Science and Engineering;adamjakus@gatech.edu

Fragmentation and Dispersion of Reactive Metal Systems

Bill Proud Cambridge Univ England
(Thadhani)